• الصوت والعمل من أجل العمل الخيري الأفريقي!
  • ساعات العمل: 09:00 صباحًا - 5:00 مساءً

الدروس المستفادة من برنامج HEROES WEBINAR التابع لـ UNارة

لم تركز الاستجابات الوطنية لوباء COVID-19 على من هم على هامش المجتمع ؛ ومن بينهم الفتيات والنساء. بالنظر إلى هذه الحقيقة ، فإن خلق مساحة للتعبير عن الآثار الجنسانية للوباء أمر ضروري. علاوة على ذلك ، فإن مشاركة بعض الاستراتيجيات التي تم تبنيها من قبل المنظمات المانحة التي تركز على التخفيف من هذه الآثار أمر حتمي.

حقيقة الأمر هي أن المعلومات المتعلقة بالوباء وكذلك البيانات المتعلقة بالوباء المتضرر لم تكن متاحة بسهولة ، مما يجعل المعلومات الخاصة بنوع الجنس بشأن الآثار غير المتناسبة على الفتيات والنساء أكثر محدودية. هذا ليس مقلقًا فقط لأنه طريقة التخفيف الحالية ، ولكنه يمثل أيضًا تحديًا لجهود بناء المجتمع بعد الوباء. يبدو أن جميع أعضاء اللجنة يرددون حقيقة أنه عندما نتحدث عن حماية الفتيات والنساء ، يجب أن يكون هناك تركيز متعمد عليهم إذا أردنا ضمان عدم مرورهم مرور الكرام أثناء وبعد الوباء.

أثبتت الاستجابات الحالية مثل عمليات الإغلاق والقيود الأخرى على الحركة مثل حظر التجول ، على الرغم من اعتبارها ضرورية ، أن لها آثارًا سلبية على النساء. أدى تفويض البقاء في المنزل وكذلك إغلاق المدارس إلى تعرض معظم الفتيات لخطر العنف المنزلي والاعتداء الجنسي في منازلهن. أبلغت روث مينا من صندوق النساء في تنزانيا الاستئماني عن حدوث 100 و 194 حالة حمل لتلميذات في منطقتي توندورو وشينيانجا على التوالي. كما تم الإبلاغ عن 703 حالة عنف قائم على النوع الاجتماعي حتى الآن في جميع أنحاء البلاد.

يذكرنا Tariro Tandi من صندوق العمل العاجل - أفريقيا بالنسبة لمعظم النساء ، أن الوصول إلى خدمات الصحة الإنجابية أصبح محدودًا ، مما يجعل من الصعب عليهن التخفيف من أي عنف - جنسي أو غير ذلك - قد يتعرضن له. وفقًا لهيئة الأمم المتحدة للمرأة ، من المهم أيضًا أن نتذكر أن 89% من توظيف النساء في جميع أنحاء إفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى هو عمل غير رسمي (بائعات ، وعمل منزلي ، وعمل بالجنس) ويتطلب التنقل وكذلك التفاعل الاجتماعي ، والذي أعاقته الاستجابات التي تقيد الحركة. كما أن التوقع الجنساني للفتيات للمساعدة في الأعمال المنزلية جعلهن أيضًا راعيات بدوام كامل وربات منازل ، مع القليل من الوقت للتركيز على دراساتهن وغيرها من ارتباطات النمو الذاتي.

أدت زيادة المراقبة من أجل فرض قيود الإغلاق إلى جعل بعض النساء أكثر ضعفاً من خلال ضبط تحركاتهن. نشطاء حقوق الإنسان ، النساء اللواتي يعتمدن على الفرار للحماية من العنف من أي نوع ، يتعرضن الآن لخطر أكبر. هذا ليس شاملاً للآثار التي مرت بها الفتيات والنساء وستستمر في التعرض لها ، ولكنها بدأت تعطينا فكرة عن عدم التناسب.

ربما كانت أهم النتائج التي استخلصتها من المناقشة بالنسبة لي هي طرق الخروج باستراتيجيات التخفيف. أولاً ، الفكرة القائلة بأنه حتى داخل الهوامش هناك نساء تم تهميشهن بشكل أكبر من خلال الهويات المتقاطعة. أن أي استراتيجية تدعي إعطاء الأولوية للمرأة يجب أن تكون شاملة للنساء في المناطق الريفية ، والنساء غير المطابقات للجنس ، والنساء المعوقات ، والنساء المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسانية والجنس. ثانيًا ، يجب أن تتجاوز استراتيجيات التخفيف الاحتياجات المادية حتى تكون مؤثرة حقًا.

يتحدث Tariro Tandi عن الحاجة إلى التفكير في الشفاء من خلال ضمان توفر خدمات الدعم النفسي والاجتماعي التي تعالج الصدمات العاطفية والعقلية التي ستتحملها العديد من النساء من خلال الوباء. أيضا ، ضمان سماع أصوات الفتيات والنساء بشكل حقيقي بحيث يتم إبراز احتياجاتهن ومطالبهن. وأنهم قد يكون لديهم الفاعلية في أنواع استراتيجيات التخفيف التي تعمل بشكل أفضل بالنسبة لهم ، حتى لا ينتهي بنا الأمر بعزل الأشخاص الذين ندعي أنهم يخدمونهم.

كما ذكّرتنا أبيجيل بورغيسون من صندوق نساء إفريقيا ، فإن العديد من القضايا التي من المقرر معالجتها أثناء وبعد الجائحة ليست جديدة بالضرورة. وتعني الآثار الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الجندرية أن النضال من أجل تعبئة الموارد الذي تمر به العديد من المنظمات النسائية حاليًا يمثل مخاوف دائمة. الآن أكثر من أي وقت مضى ، بينما نتحدث عن أفضل طريقة لخدمة النساء الأخريات وبعضنا البعض ، علينا أن نعتمد على أنفسنا. يتم تذكيرنا بالنظر إلى الداخل للحصول على الموارد. هذا يجعل محادثات مثل هذه ، مع مشاركة المعرفة والأدوات والاستراتيجيات الهامة بشكل خاص مهمة.

هنا هو رابط الصوت الكامل من الندوة عبر الويب.

مؤلف: كارين شالاميلا

مستشارة في النوع الاجتماعي والإعلام

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

يمكنك استخدام سمات وسمات <abbr title="لغة ترميز النصوص التشعبية">HTML</abbr> التالية: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*

arArabic

National responses for the COVID-19 pandemic have not focused on those on the margins of society; among which are girls and women. Given this fact, creating space to express the gendered impacts of the pandemic felt necessary. Moreover, sharing some of the strategies that have been adopted by grant-making organizations that center to mitigate these impacts are imperative.

The fact of the matter is that information on the pandemic as well as data on those affected pandemic has not been readily available, which makes gender specific information on disproportional impacts on girls and women even more limited. This is not only concerning as it gets is the way of current mitigation, but also poses a challenge for post-pandemic community building efforts. The panelists all seemed to echo the matter of fact that when we speak of protecting girls and women, there needs to be a deliberate focus on them if we are to ensure they do not go unnoticed during and after the pandemic.

Current responses such as lockdowns and other movement restrictions like curfews, although deemed necessary have proven to have adverse effects on women. The stay-at-home mandate as well as the closing of schools has seen most girls at a greater risk of domestic violence as well as sexual assault in their homes. Ruth Meena from Women Fund Tanzania Trust reported 100 and 194 schoolgirl pregnancies in the regions of Tunduru and Shinyanga respectively. Also, 703 Gender Based Violence (GBV) have been so far reported across the country.

Tariro Tandi of Urgent Action Fund-Africa reminds us for most women, access to reproductive health services has become limited, thus making it harder for them to mitigate any of the violence- sexual or otherwise- they might be subjected to. According to UN women it is also important to remember that 89% of women’s employment across sub-Saharan Africa is informal (vendors, domestic work, sex work) and requires mobility as well as social interaction, which has been hindered by responses restricting movement. The gendered expectation for girls to help with house chores have also rendered them as fulltime caretakers and homemakers, with little time to focus on their studies and other self-growth engagements.

The increase in surveillance in order to enforce the lockdown restrictions has made some women more vulnerable by policing their movement. Human rights activists, women who rely on fleeing for protection against violence of any kind have now been put at greater risk. This is not exhaustive of the impacts that girls and women have been and will continue to go through, but it does begin to give us an idea of the disproportion.

Perhaps the most important takeaways from the discussion for me were the approaches to coming up with mitigation strategies. Firstly, the idea that even within the margins there reside women who are further marginalized via intersecting identities. That any strategy that claims to prioritize women needs to be inclusive of women in rural areas, gender non-conforming women, disabled women, LGBTQIA+ women. Secondly, that mitigating strategies need to go beyond material needs if they are to be truly impactful.

Tariro Tandi talks about the need to consider healing through ensuring psychosocial support services that address the emotional and mental trauma that many women will have endured through the pandemic are available and accessible. Also, guaranteeing that girls and women’s voices are genuinely heard so that their needs and demands are highlighted. And that they may have agency in the kinds of mitigation strategies that work best for them, so that we do not end up alienating the very people we claim to serve.

As Abigail Burgesson from Africa Women’s Fund reminded us, many of the issues that are set to be tackled during and in the post-pandemic period are not necessarily new. The gendered socio-economic effects mean that the struggle with resources mobilizing that many women organizations are currently going through are enduring concerns. Now more than ever, as we talk about how to best serve other women and each other, we have to be self-reliant. We are being reminded to look inward for resources. This makes conversations such as this one, with the sharing of crucial knowledge, tools and strategies particularly important.

Here is the link to the full audio from the webinar.