• الصوت والعمل من أجل العمل الخيري الأفريقي!
  • ساعات العمل: 09:00 صباحًا - 5:00 مساءً

المرأة الإسلامية تؤثر على السرد الخيري

كل مسلم ملتزم تحكمه "أركان الإسلام الخمسة". الشهادة (الشهادة) - إعلان الإيمان ، الصلاة (صلاة) - الصلاة ، الزكاة (زكاة) - الصدقة الواجبة ، الصوم (الصوم) - صيام شهر رمضان (رمضان) والحج (حج) - الحج إلى الأماكن المقدسة في مكة المكرمة ، المملكة العربية السعودية.

 

السيدة زاريا أديامبو أمواي هي مرادف للموضوعات الإسلامية في الأعمال الخيرية. وهي المؤسس المشارك والمدير التنفيذي الحالي لـ Villa Teag Children's Home في أحياء داندورا الفقيرة بنيروبي. في عام 2003 ، شرعت زاريا مع رفيقها المحترف الراحل ريموند موغابي في رحلة متحمسة لتوفير الرعاية السكنية لما يقرب من 100 طفل. بعد الزوال المأساوي لريموند في عام 2008 ، عقد زاريا العزم على الاستمرار في العمل على الرغم من الحزن ، والانتقال الصعب والخروج من الجهات المانحة والشركاء المكتسبة من خلال الراحل ريموند.

بعد 13 عامًا ، تمكنت زاريا من تعزيز جهودها الخيرية وتدعم 55 طفلاً آخر (30 مسكنًا و 25 في برنامج التوعية) من خلال تقديم رعاية شاملة ووقت جيد واحتياجات مادية. خلافًا للاعتقاد السائد ، فهي ليست قطبًا مزدهرًا يسعى إلى "تنظيف الدية" أو يبحث ببساطة عن الوفاء بواجب ديني. يتجلى اهتمامها الحقيقي في سلوكها وتضحياتها التي لا هوادة فيها. مثل كل قائد عظيم ، يعمل زاريا في فريق. يتكون مجلس إدارة Villa Teag من 4 سيدات (3 مسلمات ، 1 مسيحية). فريق عملها أيضًا مزيج غني مع شميمة العموي التي ترأس قسم الشؤون الإدارية والمالية ، وعاملين اجتماعيين ، وطباخين ، ورئيسة واحدة ، وراعية واحدة على كشوف المرتبات. كما عمل زوجها السيد عمر أموي مع أطفالهم (بروك ، شامير ، مليكة ، شميمة ، شاميلا وزينة) بمثابة العمود الفقري لهيئة فيلا تيج من خلال العطاء النقدي والخدمة والدعم العاطفي.

إن الخلفية الدرامية للإقامة الدائمة الحالية لفيلا تيج هي أيضًا من خلال الدعم السخي من هاتيس شاهين (المعروفة باسم خديجة) التي اشترت لهم المنزل. هذا بعد استضافة الأطفال في السابق لمدة 4 سنوات في منزل تبرعت به السيدة أليس. هذه الاتصالات ليست قائمة بذاتها. كانت هاتيس وسيلة تواصل من خلال الجمعية الخيرية الإسلامية الكينية.

حاليًا ، القوة المالية الرئيسية للمنزل هي زاريا وعائلتها. ارفع الاطفال ( https://www.liftthechildren.org/) أيضًا في إعطاء جزء من الموارد النقدية الشهرية اللازمة لرعاية الأطفال. المنظمات الأخرى التي دعمت هذه الرؤية عينيًا هي Admin's Group والحكومة الكينية وسوبر ماركت Uchumi والكنيسة الكاثوليكية في Dandora.

تقول زاريا ، النموذجية للعقليات الأبوية في العديد من المجتمعات الأفريقية ، إنها واجهت تحيزًا جنسيًا ودينيًا فيما يتعلق بعملها. "بصفتي امرأة مسلمة تدير منظمتي الخاصة ، أواجه الكثير من التمييز. هذا بشكل خاص عندما أذهب إلى المؤسسات الإسلامية لطلب المساعدة. إنهم يشككون دائمًا في قدرتي على امتلاك المنظمة ". فيما يتعلق بالالتزام باللوائح الحكومية ، تواصل زاريا مشاركة ذلك ، "لقد شعرت بالكثير من الضغط من الحكومة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالتسجيل والحفاظ على الوضع القانوني لفيلا تايج. شعر المسؤولون الحكوميون المختارون أنني أدنى من أن أدير المنظمة ولدي أسئلة لم تكن لتُثار لو لم أكن امرأة مسلمة ".

من خلال توجيهات الحكومة الخاصة بالبعد الاجتماعي لـ Covid-19 ، سهلت زاريا نقل نصف الأطفال المقيمين إلى منزل آمن آخر مملوك لعائلة من أجل حماية رفاهيتهم. بغض النظر عن المواسم الوعرة ، فإن زاريا مصمم على رؤية السبب يزدهر. كانت كلماتها الإيجابية كما تحدثنا ، "كونك امرأة في القيادة كان أمرًا صعبًا. ومع ذلك ، فإنني عازم على تجاوز كل الصعاب وإظهار أن المرأة المسلمة يمكنها أيضًا القيادة وليس القيادة فحسب ، بل قيادة الآخرين بطريقة كريمة ". إن الاعتقاد بأن النساء المسلمات دائمًا في حالة "بحاجة إلى الإنقاذ" يشوه تصورنا لرؤيتهن عن حق كمساهمات نشطة في مجال العمل الخيري.

تحفزنا رحلتها على الابتعاد عن الرمزية إلى المشاركة المستدامة التي تتجاوز الأعمال التي تبعث على الشعور بالرضا والتي تهدئ ضميرنا. احلموا معي لبعض الوقت: ماذا لو تجرأت أنت وأنا ، مثل زاريا ، على تتبع المبادرات الخيرية الأفريقية خلال فترة اقتصادية صعبة؟ ماذا لو عملنا معًا لدعم النساء المسلمات لكسر المعتقدات المقيدة التي يزرعها المجتمع؟ ماذا لو كمواطنين مدركين لاحتياجات من حولنا ، فإنهم ينخرطون في العمل؟ هذه الأسئلة تحدق في وجهنا وسط جائحة Covid-19 وستستمر في دفعنا إلى ما بعد الوباء.

 

اترك تعليقاً

لن يتم نشر عنوان بريدك الإلكتروني.

يمكنك استخدام سمات وسمات <abbr title="لغة ترميز النصوص التشعبية">HTML</abbr> التالية: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

*

arArabic

Every practicing Muslim is governed by the ‘Five Pillars of Islam’; Shahada (الشهادة‎‎) – the declaration of faith, Salat (صلاة‎) – prayer, Zakat (زكاة‎‎) – obligatory charity, Sawm (صوم) – fasting during the month of Ramadan (رمضان) and Hajj (حج) – pilgrimage to holy sites in Mecca, Saudi Arabia.

 

Mrs. Zaria Adhiambo Omwayi is the byword of Islamic themes in acts of charity. She is the co-founder & current Executive Director of Villa Teag Children’s Home in Dandora slums, Nairobi. In 2003, Zaria together with her late professional comrade Raymond Mugabe Were embarked on an ardent journey to provide residential care to close to 100 children. After the tragic demise of Raymond in 2008, Zaria resolved to continue with the work despite the grief, a rough transition & falling out of donors & partners acquired through the late Raymond.

13 years later, Zaria has managed to beef up her philanthropic efforts and is supporting 55 more children (30 residential & 25 in the outreach program) by offering holistic care, quality time & material needs. Contrary to popular belief, she is not a booming tycoon seeking to ‘clean blood money’ or simply looking to fulfill a religious obligation. Her genuine concern is evident in her conduct and relentless sacrifice. Like every great leader, Zaria works in a team. The management board of Villa Teag is made up of 4 women (3 Muslim, 1 Christian). Her staff team is also a rich blend with Shamima Omwayi heading the Administration & Finance department, 2 social workers, 2 cooks, 1 matron & 1 patron all on payroll. Her husband, Mr. Omar Omwayi together with their children (Bruke, Shamir, Malika, Shamima, Shamila & Zena) have also served as a backbone to the Villa Teag body through monetary giving, service & emotional support.

The backstory of the current permanent residence of Villa Teag is also through the generous support of Hatice Sahin (best known as Khadija) who bought them the home. This is after previously having the children hosted for 4 years at a donated home by Madam Alice. These connections are not as stand-alone occurrences. Hatice was a connect through Kenya Muslim Charitable Society.

Currently, the main financial muscle of the home is by Zaria & her family. Lift the Children ( https://www.liftthechildren.org/) is also involved in giving a portion of the monthly monetary resource necessary for the upkeep of the children. Other organizations that have supported this vision in-kind are Admin’s Group, the Kenyan Government, Uchumi Supermarket & the Catholic Church in Dandora.

Typical to patriarchal mindsets in many African societies, Zaria says that she has faced sexist & religious biases in relation to her work. “As a Muslim woman running my own organization, I face a lot of discrimination. This is especially when I go to Islamic institutions to ask for help. They always doubt my ability to own the organization.” In regards to adherence to the government regulations, Zaria continues to share that, “I have felt a lot of pressure from the government when it came to registration & maintaining the legal status of Villa Taeg. Select government officials felt like I was too inferior to run the organization & had questions that would not have been raised if I was not a Muslim woman.”

With the Covid-19 social distancing government directives, Zaria facilitated the move of half of the residential children to another family-owned safe house in order to protect their well-being. Regardless of the bumpy seasons, Zaria is determined to see the cause flourish. Her affirmative words as we spoke were, “Being a woman in leadership has been challenging. However, I am determined to rise above all the odds & show that Muslim women can also lead and not only lead, but lead others in a dignified manner”. To hold the belief that Islamic women are always in a ‘need-to-be-rescued’ state distorts our perception of viewing them rightfully as active contributors to the Philanthropy space.

Her journey provokes us to move away from tokenism to sustainable engagement that works beyond feel-good actions that pacify our conscience. Dream with me a while: what if you and I, like Zaria dared to trail blaze African Philanthropic initiatives during a tough economic time? What if, together, we work to support Muslim women break through the limiting beliefs cultivated by society? What if as citizens aware of the needs of those around us zero in on the action? These questions stare at us in the face amidst the Covid-19 pandemic & will continue to nudge us post-pandemic.

By Karen Kilwake