APN Chairperson recognised for contributing to African Philanthropy

Africa Philanthropy Network (APN) Chairperson and Executive Director of the Southern Africa Trust (SAT) Dr Bhekinkosi Moyo is the winner of the 2016 Olga Alexeeva Memorial Prize for Emerging Markets Philanthropy.

Now in its fourth year, the prize was created in honour of Olga Alexeeva, widely considered to be the driving force behind the development of Russia’s philanthropy sector following the end of Communism who died suddenly in 2011. Past  winners have come from Kenya, China and Romania. Five of the seven finalists– from South Africa, Brazil, Singapore and Mexico – were present in Johannesburg for the ceremony.

In accepting the prize, Dr Moyo said: “We need to consider what shifting the power means for us as community philanthropists. It is a motivation for us to be more creative, disruptive and imaginative.

“This is a community award in the spirit of Ubuntu, it is for all those who have provided the space for this work to manifest itself,” he added.

In choosing Dr Moyo, the judges commented on his long-term contribution to African Philanthropy and playing a role to build African institutions and networks to strengthen philanthropy in Africa.

The other  finalists nominated for the award were Paul Bacher founder of ORTJET, Artemisa Castro Executive Director of Fondo Acción Solidaria (FASOL) in Mexico, Audrey Elster Executive Director of the Raith Foundation in South Africa, Neville Gabriel head of The Other Foundation in South Africa, Laurence Lien co-founder and CEO of the Asia Philanthropy Circle (APC) in Singapore and Maria Amalia Souza  founder and executive director of CASA Socio-Environmental Fund, based in Brazil.

The prize encourages and highlights the work of a remarkable individual who has committed herself or himself to building philanthropy and demonstrating its value as a tool for achieving progressive social change in their country or region. It is an Alliance magazine project and  supported by Charles Stewart Mott Foundation, Lodestar Foundation and the Vladimir Potanin Foundation.