Shifting The Power of Community Philanthropy

The African Philanthropy Network (APN) Chairperson, Dr. Bhekinkosi Moyo, will be presented with the fourth Olga Alexeeva Memorial Prize for Philanthropy Award at a Global Summit on Community Philanthropy taking place in Johannesburg next month.

The Global Summit aimed at developing community philanthropy, will be held from 1-2 December at the Turbine Hall, Johannesburg, South Africa.

Dr. Moyo, who is also the Executive Director of the Southern Africa Trust, is to be recognised for his contribution, and dedication, to strengthening philanthropy in Africa.

“The Prize serves as a call to me and my colleagues in the African Philanthropy space to work even harder and more diligently, as our journey is nowhere near completion,” said Dr. Moyo.

“We will build on the foundation laid out by luminaries in the field and sharpen the philanthropy tool to achieve progressive social change in the continent,” he said.

Community philanthropists, grassroots grant makers and national grant making foundations from across the globe will convene at the global summit looking at how to amplify the power of community philanthropy.

The keynote speakers at the Summit will include US Ambassador James Joseph, Dr Moyo, Sibongile Mkhabela (CEO of the Nelson Mandela Children’s Fund), Degan Ali (Director of Adeso) and Paul Bacher (Founder and CEO of ORT Jet).

APN board members from across the continent will attend the summit that will invigorate regional conversations to #shiftthepower.

The board members are Dr. Bhekinkosi Moyo APN Chairperson & Executive Director of the Southern Africa Trust, Dr. Tendai Murisa Executive Director of Trust Africa, Dr. Stigmata Tenga President of the Foundation for Civil Society (FCS), Jenny Hodgson Executive Director of the Global Fund for Community Foundations (GFCF), Ms. Wanja Muguongo Founder and Executive Director of UHAI EASHRI, Mr. Gerry Salole Chief Executive of European Foundation Centre (EFC), Mr. Evans Okinyi acting Chief Executive Officer for the East Africa Association of Grantmakers (EAAG), Mrs. Janet Naumi Mawiyoo Chief Executive Officer of Kenya Community Development Foundation (KCDF), Ms. Beulah Fredericks Executive Director of the Community Development Foundation Western Cape, Mr. Ezra Mbogori Executive Director of Akiba Uhaki, Ms. Theo Sowa Chief Executive Officer of the African Women’s Development Fund (AWDF), Ms. Sinikiwe Makumbirofa Finance Director at the Nelson Mandela Children’s Fund.

The Summit offers the opportunity for community and other philanthropists to come together, learn from each other and develop innovative practices that contribute to a larger approach to development.

“Africa celebrates a broad range of philanthropy activities. Community philanthropy combines long-term local asset development with a focus on strengthening community capacities and agency” said Dr Moyo.

These innovative approaches will be focused on developing local systems mapping, grassroots grant making, constituency voice and the creation of community funds, etc.

Furthermore, the Summit will help to shift the power by encouraging good development through mobilizing people, resources, evidence and data, ensuring good governance, adding value, and implementing effective innovations and communications.


For more information and APN interviews:

Sibongiseni Ngamile
011 888 0140/079 908 2362

For more information and Global Summit interviews:

Jenny Hodgson
Executive Director, Global Fund for Community Foundations
+27 11 447 4396